Recently introduced legislation making its way through the Washington State Legislature would ostensibly serve to deter jewelery thieves from being able to unload stolen goods at pawn shops quickly and easily. However, a reading of the actual language of the bill paints a picture of a state desiring to all but eliminate any and all commerce in precious metals AND secondhand firearms within its borders.
A portion of the official summary of the bill provided by the state of Washington follows:
The definition of “secondhand dealer” is expanded to include those persons or business engaged in transactions involving secondhand property despite whether or not the person maintains a fixed place of business within the state, such as a temporary, transient secondhand business.
Record Keeping for Receipt of Precious Metals. Secondhand dealers, including temporary, transient secondhand dealers, must maintain records for three years after the date of each transaction involving precious metals. Each secondhand dealer must maintain wherever that business is conducted, a record that includes the following information:
- date and time of the transaction;
- signature and photo of the person with whom the transaction is made and if, the amount of the transaction is greater than $100, then also the fingerprints of the person with whom the transaction is made;
- the name, date of birth, sex, height, weight, race, address, and telephone number of the person with whom the transaction is made;
- a complete description of the property pledged, bought, or consigned, including brand name, serial number, model name, any initials or engraving, size, pattern, and color of stone or stones, and in the case of firearms, the caliber, barrel length, type of action, and whether it is a pistol, rifle, or shotgun;
- type and identifying number of identification used by the person with whom the transaction is made, which consist of full copies of the person’s valid driver’s license or identification card or two pieces of identification issued by a government agency, one of which must be a current government issued picture identification;
- the name or identification number of the employee conducting the transaction; and
- the price paid and if the amount is greater than $100, the amount must be paid by a written instruction to pay signed by the person giving the instruction.
You can learn more about this pending legislation, including gaining access to the original and revised bill text in full, through the official Washington State Legislature web site linked in this sentence.